Reviews & Testimonials

Magnificent food, thankyou for effortlessly dealing with our food restrictions! The goat curry was phenomenal and the gluten free naan was impressive. Fantastic service and an excellent evening! Sarah Page August 14th, 2015
Delicious curries and a warm hospitable staff. We loved it! Will keep coming back for more. Aarti August 14th, 2015
Wonderful quality Indian food, as always. Traditional and a little old-fashioned but high quality and never disappointing. Good service as well, very satisfied. anonymous May 29th, 2015
Excellent food.This restaraunt certainly deserves all the awards it has won.We walked in off the street after being disappointed when eating an entree at the Thai restaurant next door which was empty and should have read alarm bells.We had to book at the carlton curry house for the following Tuesday early evening and it didn't disappoint. The flavours were unique, one of the best Indian meals we've had and we eat a lot of Indian meals particularly in London. anonymous May 29th, 2015
We looked up Trip Advisor for a good authentic Indian Curry restaurant and Carlton Curry House in Lygon st Carlton was the one we booked. The food was so good and the flavors come out with every mouthful. The tandoori fish was so flavorsome and soft, the chicken ticka malai was amazing and the paneer kofta were so soft it dissolved in your mouth. The nan bread was soft and fluffy. The service was excellent and the staff were very hospitable and polite. An excellent experience anonymous May 21st, 2015
The food here is always fresh, tasty and nice. The service is good as is the atmosphere. We always get the banquettes which the chefs add their touch of the day as a wonderful surprise. We love it here. Back soon. Nick May 21st, 2015
I spend a lot of time travelling in India for business so I know a lot of great Indian restaurants. Karims in Old Delhi is right up there. But ... my absolute favourite Indian restaurant on planet earth is the Carlton curry house in Carlton, Melbourne . Hard to believe. But the Carlton curry house has been a stunning restaurant for a couple of years. It rates as one of my top 5 restaurants in the world. I never miss the opportunity to dine there when I'm in Melbourne . Highly recommend anonymous May 21st, 2015
We were looking for somewhere to eat in Melbourne, and after consulting Trip Advisor, saw this highly rated restaurant very close to where we were staying at the Ibis melbourne hotel. Not being able to decide what we wanted to eat, my gf and I ordered the 'Carlton deluxe banquet'. There was an option to have the 'Carlton curry Classic ' banquet, but you will need to be 'carlton deluxe banquet' to have that, as we had so much food with our order. 5 entrees, 3 mains, 2 types of nan bread, papadums, rice and green salad ensured we had ample to eat. But just as important.....it was quality. The wine list was also extensive and added to our dining experience. Or try the mango lassi....delicious. Finally, the service was also exceptional from all staff, especially Liv who looked after all our needs. I can see why this restaurant is so highly rated and popular, and we will return. anonymous May 21st, 2015
Wow ! Magnificent food. Numerous Gluten Free options. Great, well trained, friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit. We visited on a busy friday night and the service was great anonymous April 25th, 2015
Being spoilt for dining choices in melbourne, we were very happy with our decision to eat here. The quality Punjabi cuisine was absolutely delicious. The attentive service from all the wait staff was excellent, and the wine that was suggested to accompany our meal was perfect. We will return to eat here when we are in melbourne again. anonymous April 25th, 2015
Great food, great service DINER REVIEW AUG 24, 2013 FAVOURITE I regularly order delivery from Peggy & the crew at Carlton Curry House, and they are awesome! The food is always great, they deliver in good time and they are always nice ) Source
Urbanspoon
April 19th, 2015
An excellent evening with friends from Austria and Thailand. Food was delicious and the service was excellent. anonymous March 22nd, 2015
We had the most amazing meal on sun 8th March. Everything was fabulous - the food, the service, the atmosphere. We all said it was the best curry we have had in Victoria. Delightful and want to go back. anonymous March 12th, 2015
Great service! And great food! Wonderful experience, would definitely eat here again. anonymous February 21st, 2015
Best Indian food I've had since moving here a year ago. Absolutely delicious Nick Murphy February 1st, 2015
Delicious! I had goat curry, and partner had the Special duck dish I have to eat Gluten Free and there were no contamination issues here which happens at so many other restaurants I go to. Very happy-a great meal! Gill Maddy January 26th, 2015
I am coeliac and allergic to milk protein so I can be limited in dining out options. My husband and I both love Indian but rarely can I even eat the pappadums let alone the naan! This place was AMAZING. Not only were the gluten free and dairy free curries gorgeous but the naan was great and the service was wonderful too. My English husband knows his curries and he loved our meals! The prices were also very very reasonable. Thank you so much for making the experience a safe and enjoyable one. We will definitely return!!! Karise & Jason January 4th, 2015
Peggy & her team were excellent & attentive. The food was wonderful & delicious! Perfect place to get our curry & spice fix..will surely come back to Carlton Curry House should we visit Melbourne again. Salimah December 29th, 2014
The food was well flavoured but the only thing I could complain about was that no one offered us a choice of how hot we wanted the food - others were offered this option after we had placed our order. As a result, the food was too mild for our palates Barbara Studholme December 28th, 2014
We were a party of 16 people and the service at the Curry House was exceptional. Peggy was great to deal with and all of our booking requests were met. The food was lovely and we were very well looked after. The staff went out of their way to accommodate special dietary needs and we would definitely return. Brenda December 4th, 2014
It was the perfect venue for our work Christmas function. The food was delicious. We were seated up stairs, the atmosphere was excellent. Hard working staff. I did feel bad for them having to bring everything up and down those stairs though. We all had a great night. Thanks Peggy. Jenny November 23rd, 2014
Such a lovely place. Service was fantastic. Peggy is wonderful. Will definitely visit again. Anelia October 25th, 2014
Fantastic food and service! I am gluten, egg and dairy free and was able to enjoy a fabulous dinner (including garlic naan). My friends also enjoyed their 'regular' meals. Would love to return. Kelly October 25th, 2014
I have been banging my head against the wall ever since being diagnosed with Coeliac Disease, trying to find a restaurant that would label their gluten free dishes that were also tasty. It seemed to be an impossible task. Well last night I was so glad to have found Carlton Curry House, incredibly authentic curries, great staff, tasty food and an astronomical amount of gluten free options. My partner and I ordered the first banquet menu ($29.95 each) which included pappadums and chutney, Samosas, Chicken Tikka Malai, Butter Chicken, Lamb Rogan Josh, Aloo Matar, rice, Naan, Raita and Gulab Juman. First of all for $29.95 each this is a spectacular feast, I couldnt walk out of the restaurant because I had eaten so much but still had enough for lunch and dinner today! Peggy was an absolute delight, one of our waitress and the owner of the restaurant, she was more than willing to change certain parts of the menu for us because a) I dont like lamb and b) Im gluten intolerant. Instead of the Lamb Rogan Josh, we changed it for a Beef Vindaloo, and the Gulab Juman (a dessert) was changed to the Kulfi (homemade pistachio ice cream). Peggy also went out of her way to serve me an Aloo Tikki for the entre instead of the Samosa which was not gluten free, she also made sure to serve everything with different tongs as to not contaminate my gluten free food, which I thought was really above and beyond as I havent received that treatment at any other restaurant. Peggy really takes peoples allergies seriously, which is super reassuring. The entire entre was amazing especially the Chicken Tikka Malai, all the curries were spiced perfectly and had so much flavour, the naan was somehow still soft and fluffy considering it was gluten free and the dessert, oh my the dessert. The Pistachio Kulfi was not too sweet as I have experienced before at other Indian restaurants, was jampacked full of pistachios and the texture was smooth. I am not a dessert person at all but I even ate my partners share! Peggy even took back our Beef Vindaloo and changed it for a milder bowl as my partner though it was a tad too spicy for him, we didnt even need to ask her. Peggy came over to check on us constantly which I loved, every course she made sure we were pleased, and water topped and comfortable. Thank you Peggy so much for an incredible night, fantastic food and easy dining. Scott and I had a brilliant time, youll be sure to hear and see from us soon Wynona and Scott October 25th, 2014
Couldn't be happier. At the moment we are on a strict diet and it was great to see a restaurant that is happy to accommodate. Will be coming back when we can choose from the entire menu. anonymous September 29th, 2014
The food was very very good. But what made the evening was the staff. We had a party of four people who are never short of things to talk about and stories to tell. But the service is so genuine and involved that there is not one of you that we did not want to invite to sit down and spend the evening with us as welll. You folks are simply lovely and we had a fantastic time in part because it felt like we just met a bunch of new friends. Thank you. We will certainly be back. Lots. Alex Kharnam September 19th, 2014
I have been blown away by Carlton Curry House - never before have I received such enthusiasm to cater for dietary requirements. Our group requested gluten free, garlic free and peanutshellfish free meals and Peggy personally crafted a menu to suit us. We will certainly be back next time we're in Melbourne! Lani September 15th, 2014
Having gluten free naan was what encouraged us to visit & we are glad we did! Excellent food, lovingly cooked and really friendly service from Peggy. A wonderful Indian and highly recommended!! Euan September 11th, 2014
I wanted to thank you so so much for the amazing food last night! I myself have worked in restaurants for about 6 years. I started off as a waiter, than into management and finally in the kitchen. I've traveled all around Asia on 3 occasions and have never had food as good as I did yesterday! My specialty is Italian cuisine, but I love Indian food, and now thanks to you, I love it even more! As soon as I entered the restaurant, this incredible aroma just hit me in the face. That sent my tastebuds watering! I want to also give credit to you for a fantastic menu. Indian menus are infamously known for having far too many dishes on them. You had a nice selection of appetizers and entrees, and it looks like you picked out the best 5-6 curries for each protein and stuck with that. Usually Indian restaurants will have 10-15 dishes for each protein. This always leads to confusion for customers who sit there for far too long planning their meal. So I commend you for your wisdom in putting together a great menu. 1 thing missing though... Lassi!! ) Another thing I'd like to commend you on is the fact that you offer different temperatures for your meals. Me and my wife love Indian, but dislike chilli even a little. The fact that the for could be cooked to our liking was very impressive and comforting at the same time. The food was P E R F E C T. I have never tasted chicken so moist, and tender like this before and I've been cooking it daily in a busy Italian restaurant for years! Khaled August 17th, 2014
Thanks to Peggy and staff for a fabulous lunch. We enjoyed the Burmese duck, fish with spinach and best samosas along with exotic tastings of tempura melon and a Burmese fermented tea dish to cleanse the palate. Wonderful to renew contact with Peggy and her cooking as we remember well the best vegetarian meal ever from her time at Satgaru in North Balwyn some years ago. Look forward to many more now. anonymous August 7th, 2014
Had a delightful birthday dinner with my son. The food was divine, the service exceptional. Highly recommend the Carlton Curry House. Karen Seinor
Albury Hypnotherapy Clinic
August 7th, 2014
I cant tell you how delighted I was with your selection of gluten free foods. I have never had gluten free naan before, and it along with the curries and rice and appetizers, everything was better than I coujld have hoped for. Thank you for a very special evening. Mike
MCW
August 4th, 2014
We were there to celebrate a special birthday and the service we received was outstanding! Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. And the food was amazing! Thank you Peggy for making our night very special. Sharalyn July 23rd, 2014
Lovely meal at reasonable prices - small and tucked away in Lygon street - well worth trying if you enjoy a curry and are in melbourne - if you like it hot ask for extra chilli! Fiona July 23rd, 2014
This is Peggy,restaurant owner.I'm so sorry you didnt enjoy your experience with us.We appreciate your feedback and will take your criticisms on board. anonymous July 21st, 2014
Food was nice, although pricier than most indian places and with smaller portions. Was happy with the food, but let down by customer service. The waitresses except one (the Asian woman) were rather abrupt and gruff. Suddenly loudly saying Happy with everything? in a tone that implies you do not actually care, is not good service. A genuine smile would be nice. anonymous July 21st, 2014
Great to see 40 members of U3A Deepdene at Peggy's 9 course BURMESE FOOD TASTING ...enjoying a glass of wine...fantastic day! Susan Rattray June 27th, 2014
Thanks to Peggy and staff for a fabulous lunch. We enjoyed the Burmese duck, fish with spinach and best samosas along with exotic tastings of tempura melon and a Burmese fermented tea dish to cleanse the palate. Wonderful to renew contact with Peggy and her cooking as we remember well the best vegetarian meal ever from her time at Satgaru in North Balwyn some years ago. Look forward to many more now. Robyn
Jeff
June 4th, 2014
Everything was great - food and service anonymous May 2nd, 2014
Had a lovely birthday dinner! Peggy and staff were very attentive and friendly. Will definitely visit again! anonymous April 6th, 2014
We have been enjoying Peggys warm hospitality, friendly, efficient service and delicious, top quality, Indian - Burmese cuisine for the last 7yrs. We always enjoy the delicious Vegetable Jal Frezi and Chicken Tikka Masala. Also the Momo Dumplings are just mouth watering - with their delicate aromatic flavour and spicy fresh made tomato sauce for dipping! The Carlton Curry House is a favourite dining spot for many but for us its special. The food really is beautifully made with fresh, quality ingredients and just the right blend of aromatic herbs, spices and flavours that come from many years experience... Then theres the service which makes the whole dining experience complete. Peggy is a wonderful host providing a relaxed and friendly environment, often stopping by the tables for a quick catch up with her regulars or to just see that her guests are enjoying their meals. Her staff are polite, friendly, attentive and always prepared with fresh chillies, extra serviettes or another Kingfisher Lager! Beautiful meals, warm, friendly service and a great host - what else could you possibly ask for..... Carlton Curry House! Erin & Jared. Erin March 30th, 2014
First time visitors and really enjoyed the food. As we are not fans of hot and spicy food, this was taken into account and menu adjusted to our liking, We will definitely be back anonymous January 16th, 2014
I love the frriendly atmosphere at CArlton Curry House. The greetings and attention to service is the best. Peggy and her staff know how to make you feel as though you are the only dinner guest there. The food is great and having the opportunity to try Burmese food should not be missed. The web site and online booking really works. Gillian Lang January 10th, 2014
Long time favourite DINER REVIEW MAR 30, 2013 LIKES IT I have loved Peggy and her food for a long time. I recently came to the restaurant with a friend who is vegetarian, who declared it to be 'the best Indian food I have tasted' I have had a similar experience with meat lovers. Peggy and her staff are warm, friendly and attentive. The menu retains all the Indian favourites and is extending into Peggy's native Burmese cuisine as well as gluten-free and low fat options. It is well priced, has a good wine selection if you don't want to bring your own, and the desserts . . . just come - you'll love it Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Great curries and great value DINER REVIEW APR 21, 2013 LIKES IT Once again Carlton Curry House has delivered!!! I went with a couple of friends for a meal a few nights ago and we were impressed. We ordered 3 curries and they were fantastic. The chili chicken was amazing, the goat curry was delicious and the prawn curry was fantastic. We also had the best garlic naan ever!!! The staff are always friendly and make you feel welcome on every visit - will be back again soon ) Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW MAY 05, 2013 LIKES IT The mango chicken was delicious...the staff were so attentive! Fabulous Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW MAY 05, 2013 LIKES IT The food was so yummy and the staff were so lovely they even through in complimentary dish for us to try. Will definitely come back!! Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Good food, great taste DINER REVIEW MAY 23, 2013 LIKES IT We recently booked Carlton Curry house for our daughter's first birthday. The service was good, the food tasted great. The ownermanager and the staffs were very helpful. The guests were happy too. I would recommend this place for any small sized party. I will give it 4 out of 5. Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
A curry for a special occasion DINER REVIEW MAY 26, 2013 LIKES IT Have known Peggy at CCH for the last 5 years and always have enjoyed he curries here. They are authentic Indian and does justice to my Indian palate. Celebrated my 55th birthday with the family and enjoyed the chiil fish, goat curry, Burmese chicken...Peggy even threw in some frreebies...sago pudding, and alu tiki to go with the meal. Worth visiting if you like good curries! Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Great venue for private function and curry DINER REVIEW JUN 04, 2013 LIKES IT We had a birthday party upstairs in the private room on Saturday night. Peggy the owner was fantastic and very accommodating. The curries were very tasty and they had a karaoke machine there to have some fun with. Will be going back!!! Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW JUL 05, 2013 LIKES IT Absolutely wonderful experience! Had birthday party on the weekend and the service, food and atmosphere was amazing! A must try for curry in melbourne! Best I've had yet in aus! Also like to say a great big thank u to Peggy who took care of us and made the night that extra bit special! ) Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Consistently delish DINER REVIEW AUG 17, 2013 LIKES IT I have lived in Carlton for two years, the Carlton Curry House has always provided yummy food and quick, friendly service. Love the butter chicken. Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW AUG 31, 2013 LIKES IT Fantastic Indian restaurant with some authentic Burmese dishes. We had Mon Hin Ga - a traditional Burmese Noodle soup and also Eggplant with rocket salad which are both very healthy and delicious!!!! Highly recommended!!! Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
The best Indian Restaurant in Melbourne DINER REVIEW JAN 20, 2013 FAVOURITE This is our favourite Indian Restaurant in Melbourne. We dine in the Carlton Curry House regularly and enjoy the delicious Indian Food served with bit of smile from all the staff. Peggy, the chefowner of the restaurant is very friendly and pays equal attention to all her customers. Even though this place looks small to organise functions parties we find the upstairs room good venue to organise small to mid sized parties. We will be back soon. Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW JAN 03, 2013 LIKES IT This is my partners and my favouite Indian resurant. The food is amazing and we love the healthy options. Also we find the curries to have a lot less oil and a lot more better for the waist line. Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
As good as ever! DINER REVIEW NOV 18, 2013 Had missed a few weeks at Carlton Curry House due to other commitments but had the pleasure of dining there again on Saturday. As always the food was amazing and service exceptional. If you haven't tried it already you don't know what you're missing. I'm loath to recommend any particular dish as I've tried so many and they're all fantastic and incredible value for money! Source
Urbanspoon
December 10th, 2013
A friend and I were in Melbourne last week (Wed 10th Feb 2010) and were looking for a good restaurant on Lygon St. We didn't really feel like Italian so when we came across the Carlton Curry House we thought we'd give it a try. Well I'm glad we did because it was easily the best Indian food we'd ever had. We're both from Sydney and have eaten in many Indian restaurants before but the food at the Carlton Curry House was rich in flavour and a pleasure to eat. Our waitress Monica was friendly and helpful and the meal was delightlly tasty and well priced too. I'd recommend anyone who likes good quality Indian food to eat at the Carlton Curry House. I'll be back next time I'm in Melbourne without a doubt! Cheers, Matt Kennedy, Sydney anonymous December 10th, 2013
I went here in the hope of getting a good gluten-free meal and was pleasantly surprised. The wait staff were very well informed and very helpful. I even tried the gluten-free naan. .I would certainly take friends here again, it was good, standard Indian food with lovely service and fantastic for anyone with dietary requirements. Ginand Tonic December 10th, 2013
I came in the resteraunt, the lady took me and my family to the table. It didnt take a while before the food came. The food was excellent! So delicious. Very friendly staff and high quality food. I had a great time there and highly recommend this restaurant. Best Indian place on Lygon street! 8.3Highly Recommended Food 8 Ambience 6 Service 10 Value 9 Source
Trip Advisor
December 10th, 2013
Excellent food & service! Carlton Curry House Source
Trip Advisor
December 10th, 2013
'Best Indian place on Lygon St' Source
Trip Advisor
December 10th, 2013
Great in every way Reviewed 1 September 2011 I've been to Carlton Curry House several times with friends and family. The food is always excellent, served either hot or less than hot according to your requirements. Management is friendly and tries very hard to please, prices are inexpensive and the decor in the smallish eating area is very pleasant. The wine list is small but accessible, with several good wines available by the glass. Restaurants at this end of Lygon Street generally offer a good down-to-earth dining experience, and Carlton Curry House is a stand-out. This is my favourite Indian restaurant in a city that has plenty to choose from. Visited August 2011 anonymous December 9th, 2013
9.5 Highly Recommended Food 10 Ambience 9 Service 9 Value 10 Peggy and her crew were involved in catering for 162 guests at my daughter's engagement just 2 weeks ago. Her quality service and looking after all guests and their tastes was something beyond description. All guests boasted so highly of the quality of all her food and they said they all will be going to her restaurant and using her for catering services in future. Peggy is so innovative and listens to all special requirements as we had requested. I have not tasted such food provided by her in Australia as we have eaten at so many restaurants. Tonight we are going back to her restaurant. I would say to everyone who has not been to her restaurant to make a visit and try her cuisine cooked to your taste especially in hotnees. The Best Indian Restaurant in Australia. May 06, 2012 anonymous December 9th, 2013
8 Recommended Food 9 Ambience 6 Service 9 Value 8 I have eaten A Lot of butter chicken and Carlton Curry House had The Best butter chicken I have ever eaten! The Lamb Seekh Kebab, 2 other curries and Naan's we had were also beautiful. Service was fantastic. I was impressed by the huge array of Gluten Free food available on the menu, including GF Naan! Would love to visit again! Dec 14, 2011 anonymous December 9th, 2013
9.8 Highly Recommended Food 10 Ambience 9 Service 10 Value 10 Carlton Curry House ticks all the boxes. I went here with a large group of 15 and we all thought the food was outstanding. The prices are very reasonable and the servings are generous. The service is great, very friendly but not invasive. Upstairs caters for a large group. So if youre into Indian food and would like to impress your friends, this is the venue for you! Apr 25, 2012 anonymous December 9th, 2013